2016

Aramis Lab, a geek and playful identity
for the «Brain Data Science»

ARAMIS LAB is part of the Brain and Spinal cord Institute, located within the Pitié Salpêtrière Hospital. ICM consists mainly of biologists, neuroscientists and doctors, while ARAMIS LAB is mainly made up of computer scientists and mathematicians. ARAMIS LAB's research is related to "big data" and artificial intelligence, but focused on brain research rather than targeting advertising such as Google or Facebook.

ARAMIS LAB is at the crossroads of several scientific fields and isn’t naturally at the heart of its scientific community of origin. Our mission was to create a logo that could positively stand for what they are: mathematicians and computer scientists developing computer programs to better understand  how the brain works.

A new logomark, the "mind waves" icon

We have created a new symbol that both identifies the team's activity and allows to federate its members: the "mind waves" icon.
This symbol, with a style close to graffiti, is the graphical representation of an electrical signal, recording a brain activity. It is a fleeting and dynamic signature. We aimed at showing the audacity, the enthusiasm and the innovation carried by a young team of searchers, passionate about the mysteries of the human brain.

Both "geek" and "playful", this graphic direction firstly surprised ARAMIS LAB who expected a more rational logotype. The youngest members of the team helped us through convincing the full team of the relevance of this direction. The baseline "BRAIN DATA SCIENCE" completes the logotype by explaining the activity of ARAMIS LAB. The color scheme cyan, green and purple refers to the vibrant and "flashy" shades of digital modeling that materialize the neural connections.

A new graphic charter to for
several audiences:

- ICM and neuroscience researchers, to assert the identity of computer scientists and mathematicians of the team.
- INRIA and the researchers in computer science / mathematics, to assert the positioning dedicated exclusively to the study of the human brain, its normal functioning and its diseases
- Students with high potential, to tell them that the team is at the frontier between two of the greatest scientific challenges of the 21st century: developing artificial intelligence and understanding how the brain works.
Potential funders, to appear with artificial intelligence players as a reference team that develops tools dedicated to medicine and neurology.

Learn more:
https://www.behance.net/gallery/46631557/Aramis-Lab-brand-design


Share this project:
Project expertise:
Logo creation, visual identity and graphic guidelines.
Type of client:
Communication in the education sector. Communication in science and research.

   Rate this project:
Aramis Lab

2016

Aramis Lab, une identité geek et ludique
pour la science du "Brain data"

ARAMIS LAB fait partie de l’Institut de Cerveau et de la Moëlle épinière, sur le site de l’hôpital de la Pitié Salpêtrière. L’ICM est essentiellement constitué de biologistes, de neuroscientifiques et de médecins, tandis qu'ARAMIS LAB est surtout constitué d’informaticiens et de mathématiciens. La recherche d'ARAMIS LAB se rattache aux thèmes du «big data » et de l’intelligence artificielle, mais centrée sur la recherche sur le cerveau plutôt que le ciblage publicitaire comme Google ou Facebook.

ARAMIS LAB se trouve au croisement de plusieurs domaines scientifiques et ne se trouve pas de manière naturelle au cœur de sa communauté scientifique d’origine. L’objectif était donc de créer un logo qui puisse affirmer de manière positive ce qu’ils sont : des mathématiciens et des informaticiens développant des programmes informatiques pour mieux comprendre comment le cerveau fonctionne.

Une nouvel emblème, le symbole "mind waves"

Nous avons créer un nouveau symbole qui identifie l’activité de l’équipe et permet en même temps de fédérer ses membres : l'emblème «mind waves».
Le symbole, avec son style proche du graffiti est la représentation graphique d’un signal électrique, l’enregistrement d’une activité cérébrale. C’est une signature fugace et dynamique. Notre objectif était de montrer l’audace, l’enthousiasme et l’innovation d’une jeune équipe de chercheurs passionnés par les mystères du cerveau humain.

A la fois "geek" et "ludique", cette proposition a tout d'abord surpris ARAMIS LAB qui s'attendait à un logotype plus rationnel. L'adhésion des plus jeunes membres de l'équipe nous a aidé pour convaincre de la pertinence de cette proposition. Le slogan «BRAIN DATA SCIENCE» vient compléter le logotype en explicitant efficacement l’activité d'ARAMIS LAB. Le code couleur cyan, vert et violet fait référence aux teintes vibrantes et «flashy» des modélisations numériques qui matérialisent les connections neuronales.

Une nouvelle charte graphique
pour s'adresser à plusieurs publics :

- l’ICM et les chercheurs en neurosciences, pour affirmer l'identité d’informaticiens et de mathématiciens de l'équipe.
- l’INRIA et les chercheurs en informatique/mathématiques, pour affirmer le positionnement dédié exclusivement à l’étude du cerveau humain, de son fonctionnement normal et de ses maladies
- les étudiants à fort potentiel pour leur dire que l'équipe se trouve à la frontière entre deux des plus grands défis scientifiques du XXI° siècle : développer l’intelligence artificielle et comprendre le fonctionnement du cerveau
-­ les financeurs potentiels pour apparaître auprès des acteurs de l’intelligence artificielle comme une équipe de référence qui développe des outils dédiés à la médecine et la neurologie.