citeco_brand_design-08

2016

Citéco
A visual identity for a cultural project
on economy!

Citéco is a project of the Banque de France, which result in the creation of a museum space dedicated to the economic culture. Its objective is to meet the strong demand for better access to the economic culture of the citizens. Fun and educational way, the mechanisms of the economy become comprehensible by all, through collective games, videos and multimedia installations.
To transmit the values of this project, we chose to create a logo with round shapes to give it a friendly and fun look and feel, while pursuing a reflection on the creation of an original name, short and impacting.

A shorter name for more sympathy
The logotype is primarily based on the creation of the name "Citéco". More readable and shorter than the official name « Cité de l’Économie et de la Monnaie », it’s both "prominent" and "reassuring". It provides a strong visual impact and facilitates memorization of the project by the public. This solution of "naming" associated with an adapted graphic layout, allow to create a warm and keen brand. This is an important asset to develop an effective communication and a distinctive and competitive identity among the Parisian museum offers.

A logo that symbolizes the global economy
The economic theme is directly symbolized by the design of the letter « é » which looks like at the same a world map, symbol of a globalized economy, and a pie-chart. It’s a sphere where latitude and longitude crisscross space evoking economic exchanges at the surface of the earth.
The accent extends the shape of the world map and energizes the sign. Round shapes, lowercase font and bright orange color are biases that infuse a playful, human and cultural dimension to this logotype. The design of the wordmark is inspired by the Fedra font designed by Peter Bilak. Its qualities provide flexibility in regard to the geometric aspect of the pictographic emblem. The letters were designed and composed to subtly soften the asymmetry of the parties « CIT » and « CO » so as to place the emblem in the center of the composition.

Data-visualization and crazy hairstyle
It’s quite difficult to represent nowadays immaterial economic flows without the help of data-visualization. The logo "Citéco" refers to a computer graphics "pie-chart". We propose to base Citéco visual iconography guidelines on this type of representation, but by adding a few grams of creativity. Data-visualization, although relevant in the context of the economy, is a cold and impersonal language. Therefore we needed to humanize and embody these visual codes to give an accessible view of the economy. We chose to stage the mind "Data-viz 'in an unexpected context: hair style and clothing of visitors to Citéco!
For the launching of Citéco, the visuals of the ad campaign suggests that with suitable teaching methods, everyone may be interested in the economy and even take it taste. They also point out that humor, evoked by the game on the usual graphic codes of the economy (curves, histograms, graphs ..), support for education. The portrait were completed with the tagline "Let grow your interest for the economy » which invite people to change their mind about economy.

Credits:
Branding and art direction: Graphéine
Photography : Gabriel De La Chapelle @Figure agency
Hairstyling & make up: Rimi Ura
Styling: Patricia Alves
Models: Alexana @Wanted Agency, Chris @Contrebande Agency and Henri @Masters agency.


Partagez ce projet sur :

Identité visuelle de Citéco

Une identité visuelle pour un projet culturel... sur l'économie!

Citéco est un projet de la Banque de France, traduit par la création d'un espace muséographique dédié à la culture économique. Son objectif est de répondre à la forte demande des citoyens pour un meilleur accès à la culture économique. De façon ludique et pédagogique, les mécanismes de l'économie deviennent compréhensibles par tous, à travers des jeux collectifs, des vidéos et des installations multimédias.
Pour transmettre les valeurs de ce projet, nous avons choisi de créer un logo avec des formes rondes, tout en poursuivant une réflexion sur la création d'un nom original, court et impactant.

Ce logotype repose avant tout sur un choix de nom : la création de l’intitulé «Citéco». Plus lisible et plus court que la dénomination officielle, à la fois «saillant» et «rassurant», il est un vecteur de modernité / d'innovation / de créativité. Il assure un fort d’impact visuel et facilite la mémorisation du projet par le public. Citéco met en valeur le caractère citoyen et éducatif de la Cité. Celle-ci garde aussi son nom complet, Cité de l’économie et de la monnaie, présent en entier dans le bloc-marque.

Cette solution de « naming », associée à une mise en forme graphique adaptée, permet de créer une marque proche de son public, ce qui est un atout important pour développer une communication efficace et une forte notoriété parmi l’offre culturelle et muséographique parisienne.

Data-visualisation récréative et folie capillaire
La «data-visualisation» c’est l’art de représenter des données de façon visuelle. La présentation sous une forme illustrée rend les données plus lisibles et compréhensibles, et il est difficile de représenter l’économie sans l’aide de la data-visualisation. Le logotype « Citéco » fait référence à un graphique « pie-chart » ou « camembert » en français. C’est un exemple de data-visualisation. Nous proposons de baser l’iconographie de Citéco sur ce type de représentation en y ajoutant quelques grammes de créativité…

Le graphisme de la data-visualisation, bien que pertinent dans le contexte de l’économie, est un langage froid et impersonnel. Nous avions donc besoin d’humaniser et d’incarner ces codes visuels pour donner une vision accessible de l’économie. Nous avons choisi de mettre en scène l’esprit « dataviz » dans un contexte inattendu : le style capillaire et vestimentaire des visiteurs de Citéco !

À l’occasion de la naissance de Citéco, les visuels de la campagne d’information suggèrent qu’avec des moyens pédagogiques appropriés, notamment ceux mis à disposition par Citéco, tout le monde peut s’intéresser à l’économie et même y prendre goût. Ils soulignent aussi que l’humour, évoqué par le jeu sur les codes graphiques usuels de l’économie (courbes, histogrammes, diagrammes..), aide à la pédagogie.

En résumé, la nouvelle identité visuelle véhicule les valeurs importantes de Citéco : modernité, proximité, accessibilité, simplicité, pédagogie et citoyenneté.

Plus de détails sur la conception de l'identité et les backstages du shooting photo sur notre blog et notre page behance.